Milligan to Captain Victory

Photo: Zee Ko

Photo: Zee Ko

Mark Milligan has been announced as Melbourne Victory’s new captain ahead of the 2013-14 A-League season.

The defensive midfielder will succeed former skipper Adrian Leijer as the club’s third captain since their inaugural campaign in 2005-06.

“To be able to lead this team this year is obviously a great privilege,” Milligan said.

“Its definitely a challenge for me this year to set my game up and to take the team [onto a successful season].

“Last season we fell short of what we aimed for, this year we really want to create that winning culture.”

Coach Ange Postecoglou explained that he believed the captaincy was new way to challenge Milligan to take his game to another level.

“[This is] a challenge to Mark, who had an outstanding year last year and is someone who I believe has a lot more in him. I think the responsibility of leading our club will hopefully take his game to another level.”

The 28-year-old Socceroos midfielder was close to signing with English Premier League outfit Crystal Palace in a deal reportedly worth $1.5 million, but left the decision in Victory’s hands.

“Throughout the whole negotiations it was made clear from a very young age that I’ve wanted to go to the Premier League and play,“ Milligan said.

“We were all very open with each other and a lot of discussions took place on it and at no stage did I want the club to short change themselves.

“The final decision was left with Melbourne and the outcome is what the outcome is. I’ve made it publically known that I‘m very happy here and my family is very happy here.”

Postecoglou confirmed last week that Adrian Leijer would be stripped of the captaincy in order for the centre half to focus on his on-field performances.

“Adrian Leijer was the skipper through some pretty tough times at this football club… the challenge for him now is to take his to take his football ot another level and play the best football of his career.”

Leigh Broxham had been wearing the armband throughout pre-season while Milligan was on international duty, including the friendly against Liverpool at the Melbourne Cricket Ground in front of a crowd of 95 000.

Milligan however is a chance to miss the opening round of the season against hometown rivals Melbourne Heart at Etihad Stadium on October 12th due to an international friendly fixtured against France that weekend.

Aside from the appointment as Victory captain, Milligan has had previous experience leading former club Sydney FC on a few occasions as well as at international level with the Ollyroos.

Milligan joined Victory in 2012 on loan from Japanese side JEF United Chiba before signing a three-year contract later that year.

About Sean Ellicott

Hey guys, My name is Sean Ellicott and I have published this blog “Sean Ellicott Football” as an opportunity to cover local and domestic sport in Victoria, particularly the game of football (soccer for those who cannot accept it). As the local leagues provide around 90% of sport in Australia, the domestic game is a huge part of developing the growing popularity of football in the country. I am a massive football fan currently studying a Bachelor of Journalism (Sport) at La Trobe University Melbourne. I play for fastest growing club in Melbourne, Mazenod United FC who are searching for back to back titles and a long time Melbourne Victory member and Manchester United fan. I also play cricket for the Mulgrave Cricket Club, whilst regularly following the AFL as a long time suffering St Kilda fan whilst following other sports such as Tennis, cycling etc. I work as a journalist for Football Federation Victoria, covering both the Victorian Premier League (VPL) and Women’s Premier League (WPL) and I am also a referee for the federation. I find these roles will give me first-hand knowledge and information of the local and domestic grassroots faction of the game, allowing me to cover these areas in depth in my blog. Additionally to mix things up and to keep my page exciting, I would love to report on any news coming out of any other codes or sports specifically in the state of Victoria to give my blog wider coverage to a greater audience. “Sean Ellicott Football” will contain VPL and WPL match reports and updates whilst additionally providing news and talking points from the surrounding leagues in Victoria. However I will not shy away from major talking points in international football, such as the Socceroos, a-league, Barclay’s Premier League and rival football codes. ENJOY!

Posted on September 17, 2013, in Sport. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment